Home > Liberal, Obama, Sowell > Sowell on Obama

Sowell on Obama


Here is a clip of Dr. Sowell talking about Obama back in 2008. How much of what Dr. Sowell said has come to pass? It’s interesting that most of what Sowell talks about, back then, is what a lot of liberal Anti-Obama sites are saying now!

Exit question: Do you think any other thos “liberal anti-Obama sites will acknowledge that they should have listened to Dr. Sowell earlier? Or that maybe, just maybe Dr. Sowell knows a lot more than they do?

Updated to fix a broken link: liberalrapture.com is now johnwsmart.com.

Categories: Liberal, Obama, Sowell
  1. Woodhull
    February 3, 2010 at 18:35

    Dr. Sowell must be a “true liberal” and not a “conservative”!!

    • February 3, 2010 at 20:08

      Well I guess since they are saying Obama is a republican, anything is possible.

  2. PJ
    February 3, 2010 at 19:40

    Wow, I would say that Dr. Sowell had/has Obama nailed perfectly. I would definitely be willing to listen to his opinion of future candidates. He sounded pretty pessimistic though when he talked about the point of no return with Iran. That’s frightening.

    I still have this feeling that Obama is going to find a way to pass the health insurance bill. Especially after hearing a big “no” from the American people. I don’t think Obama likes to hear the word “no” from anyone. I read this article, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/03/us/politics/03obama.html?ref=politics, which says he hasn’t given up on it. He hasn’t given up on climate change legislation either.

    O/T I don’t know if you have kept up with JohnWSmart, but I’m starting to worry about our old friend TL. I think he’s becoming delusional. He’s comparing the comment section to “Fight Club” and saying things like, “Don’t pick a fight, then cry ‘not fair!’ when she lands a clean punch to your jaw.” WTH??? He has gone from being the biggest whiner to “the toughest guy on the block” in a week or two.

    Bizarre doesn’t begin to describe it…

    • February 3, 2010 at 20:12

      He has a crew to run with now so of course he is acting all tough. That was the whole point of his purity test.

      PJ, you simply have to read Applied Economics by Sowell. It was the first book of his I ever read, and it really did change my whole perspective on politics. Simply put, you have to look past the good intentions and see what is the long run impact of the various policies. Once you do that, you come to realize that a lot of what you thought were good ideas, tend to have very very bad consequences. I can email you a pdf copy if you want? Of course Sowell’s other books are very insightful as well. You can read Black Rednecks and White Liberals and Woodhull, you and anyone that wants can do a little book club/discussion.

      • Woodhull
        February 3, 2010 at 23:06

        That’s why I always submitted my guest posts under “Woodhull.” I was counting on the fact that certain people (who shall not be named) have no idea that Patricia Woodhull was the first woman to run for U.S. President and was jailed for it (women didn’t have the right to vote then). When I was Woodhull and not “Jeannie”, these folks took what I had to say seriously and always posted thoughtful, agreeable comments. It was my own private social experiment.

        That was TL’s entire point on both the AGW post and the “true liberal” post. Safety in numbers. Like a school of herring.

  3. PJ
    February 3, 2010 at 20:53

    I will read it. I hadn’t seen Dr. Sowell before – he’s impressive.

    I think that’s a great idea to do a book club/discussion.

  4. Woodhull
    February 3, 2010 at 22:57

    I have read most of Sowell’s articles and “Black Rednecks/White Liberals” (a must read, P.J.). The only objection I’ve had to any of his writing was when “Lunastick” (remember the bot who showed up and actually tried to have a rational discussion?) pointed out Sowell’s complicity in perpetuating some of the RW talking points about the Clintons. Well, I’m a fierce Clinton supporter (both of them) and I’ve had to step back and take a hard look at the chinks in their armor, too. ‘Cause they are there. Naturally, I was sick-to-my-stomach, disgusted with WJC’s women problems and his insane “defense” in front of the senate investigators, but not nearly as sick as I was of Ken Star. Anyway….

    I would LOVE to discuss a book or three. Count me in. ZH, can you email me a copy of Sowell’s book?

    • February 4, 2010 at 21:38

      I think one thing I’ve learned over the year is to not idolize any politician. I used to think Bill could do no harm, but came to realize that is a real naive view. Of course he did some shitty things, and people need to recognize that in order to move forward and learn from that experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

