Horror!


So please explain how the Tebow ad was such a controversy?

I don’t get it. I think some just keep using abortion as a club to keep the local star systems in line….err I mean to keep women voters.

Meanwhile, Go Daddy has a few commercial that grossly exploit women, where are the feminist groups? [chirp chirp chirp]

Tempest in a teapot is the only term that comes to mind of this controversy.

Categories: Conservative, Elitist, Liberal
  1. yttik
    February 8, 2010 at 09:56

    LOL, I can’t explain it, but I can say it’s a most effective way of manipulating people. You ever want to get people to stop thinking for themselves, to separate and divide into polarizing positions, just bring up the abortion issue. You can win votes, power, money, and you don’t even have to do anything! Just slap one of those labels on your sleeve and watch the peasants go nuts.

  2. Woodhull
    February 8, 2010 at 10:48

    I made the mistake in the summer of ’08 of being overly dry-witted when asked by a Boston Globe reporter why I was going to vote McCain in protest of the Dem Party’s betrayals. The young, female reporter was so obviously telegraphing her own belief that a McCain presidency = repeal of Roe v Wade, I couldn’t help myself. I said: “I’m not pregnant!” The story she wrote around that quote heaped such vileness on my head by other young, female liberals I felt officially initiated into the “Truth Teller Hall of Fame.” It was an honor.

    The actual translation of “I’m not pregnant!”, the one I had to sloowwwlll-y enunciate ad nauseum (to all those hip, cool, uber-educated missies was: “Are you kidding?! Do you really think that after 30 years, and having used this so-called “issue” only in EVERY SINGLE ELECTION since its ruling, there is even a remote possibility of a single administration overruling RvW??! Please do yourselves a favor and familiarize yourselves with how that decision works and what it takes to reverse it! And while you’re at it, ask yourselves why your own uber-liberal party leaders are trying to stampede you with fear over this single issue and is not interested in anything else you might be concerned about — like jobs, healthcare, education, war(s) or women in positions of political power.”

    yttik: Unfortunately, some people can’t think beyond the tip of their nose and it’s more important to them to appear hip, cool and highly educated than to buck the tide of trendy.

    • February 8, 2010 at 12:49

      Woodhull :

      Unfortunately, some people can’t think beyond the tip of their nose and it’s more important to them to appear hip, cool and highly educated than to buck the tide of trendy.

      Pretty much sums it up.

  3. PJ
    February 8, 2010 at 16:21

    I don’t see anything wrong with ad. I do think it was a colossal waste of money if the goal was to change anyone’s mind who is pro-choice. It’s a rather expensive way to sing to the choir. But it’s not my money. The pro-choice side could see it as a “win”. The pro-life side just blew/pissed away 2.8 million dollars in 33 seconds. WOW.

    • Woodhull
      February 8, 2010 at 18:46

      Hey P.J. I meant to respond the other night about our late night posts, but couldn’t figure out how to reply when that wasn’t an option. I get it now.

      Not sure pro-life blew the money — maybe the important thing for them was to have a voice in such a top $ time slot. Fear is a powerful incentive. Both sides fear each other so much. What the pro-choice group always cites is radical RW Christian (or faith-basd) fundie groupthink and the pro-life cite feminazi LW family values erosion. I think if both camps would do more to work toward the goal of not having to face such a dire decision (abortion) and preach personal responsibility to their followers, perhaps this wouldn’t be the political football it is. I don’t know what the stats are, but are there really that many women who need an abortion from rape-induced pregnancies? That seems to be the primary justification for pro-choice. At least that’s the message I keep hearing from them. There’s something weird going on here with pro-choice. It reminds me of how women in the work world/paying jobs looked down their noses at women who were “just” stay-at-home moms. Is this argument also class-based?

  4. PJ
    February 8, 2010 at 19:45

    I agree that both sides have completely demonized the other side. Just my experience but there is “looking down the nose” on both sides. Some stay-at-home moms look down on moms who don’t. I’m thinking it depends on the person like the Theism/Atheism debate. There are some atheists who are intolerably smug, arrogant, and condescending and a lot who are not. Same is true for theists.

    I don’t know why some pro-choice people are focusing on rape-induced pregnancies but I’m hearing that a lot also. Maybe trying to come up with a justification that pro-lifers would accept? I don’t know.

    Like I said before, I am pro-choice but I will never again be manipulated by the Democratic Party with this issue. And I feel like I have put in my time and money in this battle. It’s up to the next generation to decide how they want it to go.

    But that doesn’t mean I will stop yapping about it and giving my opinion. 🙂

  5. Woodhull
    February 9, 2010 at 00:06

    And I like hearing your opinion! I, too, am pro-choice but staunchly pro-life. I figure it’s not my decsion to make for someone else. I do hope that women will not see it as a fallback position to other lifestyle choices that lead to an undesired pregnancy. Bottom line, though, is how to get this monkey off women voters’ backs. It’s the wedge issue of wedge issues and it shouldn’t be used by pols as a way to beat back the protest vote (for every other real issue). Sorry ZH. Men!

    • February 9, 2010 at 11:22

      Of course it’s a wedge issue, that’s why the politicians will never let it go.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

