Home > Jefferson > Thomas Jefferson on Government

Thomas Jefferson on Government


History, in general, only informs us what bad government is.

– Thomas Jefferson

Still one thing more, fellow citizens — a wise and frugal government, which shall restrain men from injuring one another, which shall leave them otherwise free to regulate their own pursuits of industry and improvement, and shall not take from the mouth of labor the bread it has earned. This is the sum of good government.

– Thomas Jefferson, First Inaugural Address, 1801

Categories: Jefferson
  1. yttik
    February 25, 2010 at 14:29

    You can delete this post, I just wanted to give you a heads up.

  2. February 25, 2010 at 14:34

    I didn’t know that. I just was wondering what happened to the likes, since a lot of “guests” were agreeing with yours and my posts more than the other two.

  3. Woodhull
    February 25, 2010 at 16:43

    Hi guys,

    Just popping in to say “hey.” Have been lurking here and there…and over there. Looks like things have devolved to the level of kos and huffpo during their salad days. No intelligent life from what I have read — with a few exceptions, namely y’all. Now it’s down to “STFU” and other nonsense–from those who I surely wouldn’t invite into my home, no less. It’s a real shame, I think. I don’t think the blog owner really knew how his penchant for “a good brawl” would turn his blog into a desert of obot-style one-liners. I was thinking maybe he thought that by allowing such contentious “arguments” that his hit rate would explode and he could finally start earning some click-through money on ads. Who knows…but it’s a real disappointment.

    Great Jefferson quotes, ZH!

    • February 25, 2010 at 17:02

      Hey, wondering what happened to you.
      I still like riling people up. I have a penchant for that. Oh well, you live you learn right?
      Hows that Sowell book coming along?

  4. PJ
    February 25, 2010 at 19:30

    It’s interesting that the STFU comment came from Jay. I distinctly remember him telling me that if I didn’t like what he had to say (basically that sexism is America was a myth) that I didn’t have to read his comments.

    Maybe he should take his own advice?

    • Woodhull
      February 25, 2010 at 19:46

      I have no respect for Jay at all. He’s a sexist in denial. Either that or he thinks there are enough other guys who agree with his views that it doesn’t matter what a woman thinks of him. There was a time when we could be civil and actually learn a thing or two from each other. I tried an experiment with him once in which I posted under my own name and posted under a guy’s name and he was always more deferrential to my guy persona; agreeing whole-heartedly even if I kept to the same line of thinking. I didn’t tell him about it until he provoked me to anger one day. It was my private joke and I shouldn’t have let him get the best of me. I don’t usually let arrogance or ignorance get under my skin that way.

      He’s pretty thin-skinned, so I’m not surprised he would lash out in such an ill-tempered way.

      • PJ
        February 25, 2010 at 21:12

        Wow Woodhull – I love your experiment. What did he say when you told him? It could have been an “aha” moment for him but somehow I doubt that it was. I would guess that he’s a sexist in denial.

  5. Woodhull
    February 25, 2010 at 19:34

    I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t started it yet! Am just finishing the last chapter of McCullough’s “Truman”, though and boy! is it a good book. I’ve dog-eared some of the better quotes from it. I enjoy McCullough’s writing because his research is killer — culled from primary docs like diaries, archives, etc. If there is a writer’s bias, he plainly states it in the narrative. I’m very unhappy that Truman is not remembered in the popular press. He should be as oft-quoted as FDR, maybe more so. “Fair Deal” should be at least as much-noted as “New Deal” and for better reasons. And McCullough’s elucidation of boss politics should be required reading for all voters–if we think the Dems are creeps now, I’m glad I wasn’t around in the 1920’s/30’s. The funny thing is we think we have been uniquely visited by boss politics from the Dems just in the last 2 years. There is a history there that would curl your hair. Not saying the Reps aren’t just as guilty, but there is a popular view that the Dems were never “that” bad. “We’re the Good Guys”, right? Riiiiggghhht.

    Some of the fascinating parts are about the genesis of the Cold War, the war in Korea (and why it was called a “conflict”) and other palace intriques involving Nixon and Kennedy as young senators. It’s a good book.

    • PJ
      February 25, 2010 at 21:16

      That book sounds great. Thanks for sharing about it. I haven’t gotten to any of the books on my “list to read” and now I’ve just added another one!

  6. yttik
    February 25, 2010 at 21:05

    Did anybody get to watch the health care summit? Good grief, it was theater of the absurd! Zombie’s Jefferson quote came to mind several times.

    We have no health insurance anymore, zip, zero. Is it even possible for someone in my situation to be even worse off after they’re finished “fixing” the system for me? By golly, I think it just might be possible. By the time they are finished, I shall have no insurance and be paying a fine for the privilege.

    • PJ
      February 25, 2010 at 21:18

      From the little bit that I watched of it, I would say you summed it up perfectly. What a sad joke.

    • Woodhull
      February 25, 2010 at 21:46

      This is going to sound completely childish…but I cannot stand the sound of bo’s voice. I couldn’t stand bush’s voice either and as soon as his face was on the screen I’d hit the mute button. You can ask anyone..I hit the mute button on both the tv and the car radio whenever anyone queues bo. It’s really bad, I know. And yet even that nice repub senator said he thinks bo is an able person and knowledgable about health care — I just couldn’t watch.

      • yttik
        February 25, 2010 at 22:05

        Obama was in fine form today, smug, arrogant, churlish. He lost his cool, he attacked McCain, he rambled, and he tried to dominate the whole discussion by lecturing everyone. You made a wise choice not to listen to it.

      • February 26, 2010 at 01:36

        I can’t stand his cadence. It’s too preachery for me.
        I’ve never understood why people say he is a good speaker.

  7. Woodhull
    February 25, 2010 at 21:37

    PJ :Wow Woodhull – I love your experiment. What did he say when you told him? It could have been an “aha” moment for him but somehow I doubt that it was. I would guess that he’s a sexist in denial.

    Well, P.J., I used the name “Joe” and I think he thought I was the obot Joe who was such a weirdo. I wasn’t that “Joe”. He had some side conversation with someone else and said he wanted to talk with them offline because he had some sort of “theory” about something or other. I didn’t pursue it with him or even disabuse him of his misunderstanding because by then I didn’t care what he thought. I was just tired of him doing the flop — pretending I threw an elbow — in our debates. He was being a priss. And John has mentioned at least twice, now, his disdain for feigned fragile sensibilities. Frankly, I don’t like having foul language used on me and I don’t do it to others. And I don’t think it furthers any kind of understanding or working through complex issues, but I suppose it’s great if you’re trying to turn your blog into a WWF-style, provocative place where you just cut loose with language that would probably lead to gun play if you did it in a face-to-face situation. But that’s just me. There’s no debate over there now — it just jumps straight to name calling.

  8. yttik
    February 26, 2010 at 10:25

    This is off topic, but I thought Zombie should know the courts have ruled in his favor 🙂

    ‘Zombies’ have free speech rights too, US court rules

    http://rawstory.com/news/afp/_Zombies_have_free_speech_rights_to_02252010.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

