Home > Health Care, Liberal, Obama, Security > Patriot Act passes 315-97

Patriot Act passes 315-97


The House reauthorized the US Patriot Act by a margin of 315-97.

The House of Representatives reauthorized the Patriot Act for one year Thursday.

The vote was 315-97 .

Many liberals in the House opposed the controversial act, saying it tramps Constitutional protections and civil liberties.

Yet, the House has an overwhelming majority of liberals. So what gives? Here is the kicker;

Many of the renewed provisions involve wiretaps and eavesdropping measures.

The Senate ok’d  the package earlier this week. President Obama is expected to sign the bill into law.

Does anyone remember a few years ago at the liberal outrage over those wiretap provisions? Didn’t they want to impeach Bush over it? Oh yeah I forgot, it’s only bad when the other guy does it.

I don’t expect this to get much play except on Fox and some blogs. Democrats don’t want to remind anyone of their hypocrisy on this subject. They don’t want people to remember Obama’s FISA flop either. It’s too damaging right now at a time when they are still trying to ram through Health care legislation that will do nothing to improve health care.

What else can you expect from the party of bad ideas.

  1. yttik
    February 26, 2010 at 22:14

    Isn’t that amazing? I clearly remember all the outrage over the patriot acts, all the anti-war protesters. What happened?? Where did everybody go? The sudden silence is deafening.

    Besides being flat out hypocrites, I think people are frightened. There is so much uncertainty in the country right now. It’s hard to look back on the Bush years as better times, but it’s almost as if people had the luxury to fight against things like the patriot acts. Today we’re all too worried about a complete economic collapse of the country, losing our jobs, getting into a world war.

    • February 27, 2010 at 19:05

      They are frightened. Thanks to the doomers (even though I’m a partial doomer myself), and the fear mongers of both parties. But that’s no reason to exploit that fear for short term political gain. The dems are exploiting sovereign debt fears to expand the national debt! It’s inconceivable! (In that Princess Bride voice)

  2. kenoshamarge
    February 27, 2010 at 07:41

    I remember too. Now? Since it’s a Democratic Congress and Democrat President, sorta, this news that would have called for enormous outrage in a Bush Administration is met with yawns in an Obama Administration. Not only are the politicians hypocrites, seems like many/most members of both national parties are also filled with equal amounts of bullshit and hypocrisy. Or so it would seem to me. But what do I know, I’m an Independent and I loathe them both.

    • February 27, 2010 at 19:09

      I’m with ya. I’m more libertarian now, but I don’t like the national libertarian party that nominated Bob Barr of all fuckers for POTUS. And I thought the Dems were shooting themselves in the foot! I see not problem voting for Republicans this term, because in all honesty, I’m probably going to vote against them the next.
      I believe in this highly partisan environment, gridlock is the best policy. Gridlock is working great against the Dem plans right now, and worked during the last part of the W presidency. It’s not perfect of course bu better of two evils.

  3. PJ
    February 27, 2010 at 22:05

    I’m glad to hear we have the same opinion of Bob Barr. I hope they can do better than that the next time around. However, if the libertarian party comes up with a viable candidate, it could insure an Obama victory by splitting the repub. vote. Wouldn’t it? Cannonfire was discussing possible Republican candidates for 2012. It was interesting to hear people’s predictions. Does anyone have any favorites?

    • February 27, 2010 at 22:42

      I’d take splitting with the GOP if it meant a real viable third party. The first election cycle might be tough but I’m sure enough Dems and GOP would break away and give it enough votes to compete with the Dems and GOP.
      At this point, we know what happens whey either the Neo-Cons or the UberLeft is in power…how much worse can it get? (Famous last words huh?)

      I still like Palin. I just love the reaction she gets from the elites from both parties. Dems don’t like her, because she doesn’t play by their rules, ie a NOW, NARAL type. Because she doesn’t play by their rules, they are afraid more women will see how much the Dems are hurting them. The Dems are afraid to lose a voting bloc nothing more.
      The GOP elites are afraid of losing their Elite status. They don’t like the idea of a member of the working class, moving up. I mean Palin doesn’t have the harvard/yale/military connections so she can’t be trusted! lol I mean listening to the Sullivan/Mathews rhetoric, what can you not like about her?

  4. PJ
    February 28, 2010 at 00:33

    I really like that about Palin too – the reaction she gets from the elites of both sides kills me in a good way. I was surprised by General Petraeus being thrown out there as a possiblity. He would be great in some areas (foreign) but maybe have little to no experience in other areas (domestic). Jeb Bush was mentioned – I don’t think so. Huckabee – no way. Romney would have to be the front runner but I just can’t see it happening. There is something seriously wrong with him that I haven’t put my finger on yet. He looks like the perfect candidate – kind of like a fake apple looks perfect until you bite into it. Pawlenty – no. Jindal – NO WAY. Ron Paul – too old (and some would say, too crazy). Scott Brown would be a great choice if the repubs decide to go with electability and not “purity” of conservative values. I’m afraid that the country is still in the American Idol phase and by 2012 we’re going to want a (white) boy next door who drives a pick-up truck and loves America and looks great too. I think he would be a marketing company’s wet dream. Plus, I think he would make a good puppet (or grocery clerk as Jsom would say).

    Of all of those, I would choose Palin. There could be a surprise candidate that no one sees coming but that would be unusual for the Republican Party. They might even write off 2012 like they did 2008 and look to the future. In that case, I hope they nominate Palin – to get past “the whole female thing” – thinking they’ll lose anyway. But I think she could win the general. And compared to Obama, I’d be thrilled.

    But…my money is on Romney getting the nomination…

    • February 28, 2010 at 01:22

      I can’t stand Huckabee or Romney. Romney will get killed over RomneyCare, in this political environment. A lot can happen in the next year so we’ll just have to wait and see. Eitherway, I don’t see Barry getting a second term.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

