GOProud


I have to admit, I’ve only just heard about this group. This is from their site;

GOProud represents gay conservatives and their allies. GOProud is committed to a traditional conservative agenda that emphasizes limited government, individual liberty, free markets and a confident foreign policy. GOProud promotes our traditional conservative agenda by influencing politics and policy at the federal level.

It’s nice to see real change for once.

I’m more interested in the reaction from the Democratic Gay/Lesbian wing. Are they encouraging their GOP brothers and sisters, or are they demonizing them?

Honestly I don’t know yet. Anyone have any links?

This goes well with this talk at CATO.

Is There a Place for Gay People in Conservatism and Conservative Politics?

I like what MP Nick Herbert had to say. I think they GOP needs to include gays more. Gays, just like any group, are not monolithic. Issues are highly subjective. There are a lot of gays, just like there are a lot of any particular group, that want smaller government and more freedoms.

The additional benefits are that it will really piss of the Religious Right. Maybe the Religious Right will decide to leave the GOP? I don’t think the GOP is that lucky though.

  1. yttik
    February 27, 2010 at 23:39

    It’s interesting, isn’t it? A shift is happening, the right is starting to welcome gays as fellow conservatives, openly welcoming them.

    I don’t have any links that show reaction from Dem/liberal groups to gay conservatives, but I have seen some pretty hate filled stuff from bloggers and commentators on the internet. I know Hillbuzz receives some nasty “fan mail” for their shift to the right.

    Truthfully, I don’t know what’s wrong with the so called Left these days. There’s just an incredible amount of hatred floating around. I see black conservatives called traitors and Uncle Toms, I read homophobic attacks on gay conservatives, and women of all political stripes are certainly targets, too.

    • February 28, 2010 at 01:18

      Not all Cons are for it, but it’s nice to see some integration happening. I think there are a lot more Conservative Gays than anyone realizes. They probably are in the closet about the conservatism (I know bad joke right?) I think Gay Dems are using the Tarkin plan, fear will keep the local systems in line. After seeing what happened with Prop 8, I can’t say I’d blame any gays for not wanting to come out. But as the Dems tighten their grips on what; Gays, Women, Hispanics, Choicers, pretty much any Dem group, think and vote, the more and more will slip through.

  2. PJ
    February 28, 2010 at 09:47

    “The additional benefits are that it will really piss of the Religious Right. Maybe the Religious Right will decide to leave the GOP? I don’t think the GOP is that lucky though.” Ha!

    I once saw a TV documentary about Barry Goldwater and it appeared that he couldn’t stand the religious right. I liked that about him.

    • February 28, 2010 at 18:54

      Goldwater would be considered a libertarian by today’s standards. I actually like a lot of what Goldwater said. I think the country would have been better off if he would have won.

      I’m trying to find the 1964 GOP platform, you know of a link to it?

      I wonder how much of Goldwater’s platform would appeal to post-Obama former Dems and post-Bush conservatives?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

