Home > Market Solutions > Who’s getting an iPad?

Who’s getting an iPad?


Not me. I think they are a waste of money. I want a tablet for reading books. I can play Civ Rev and twitter on my iPhone.

The iPad will benefit me though. It will force Amazon to re-price it’s Kindle. Right now the Kindle is $259.00, for the regular version. Kindle DX is still $489.00.

Over the next few months, I expect those prices to drop considerably. That’s the beauty of market competition.

Hopefully by my birthday in November, the price will be sub $200. You hear that wife?

Categories: Market Solutions Tags: ,
  1. yttik
    April 4, 2010 at 21:23

    I’m too fond of books to want a Kindle. Actually they terrify me, LOL. I just cannot adapt to the thought of life without real books. It’s certainly going to be interesting. I’ll probably become one of those old book curators and run a museum somewhere.

    • April 4, 2010 at 21:33

      Not me, I do a lot of reading on the computer. I think I’d do even more reading if I had a Kindle or Nook.

  2. yttik
    April 6, 2010 at 09:17

    I think there is some danger in over hyping something, like the ipad. At the moment they’re enjoying all the people who are rushing out to buy one just to be cool, but in the long run I think sales are going to crash. We’ve seen so many electronic gadgets come and go, they’re all the rage and then they’re just so last year.

    If somebody were to invest in something, I think the kindle would be it. It’s got staying power. I think the prices will drop somewhat, but it’s going to be around for a long time and I imagine they’ll be upgrades and clubs to join, book of the month kind of stuff, magazine and newspaper subscriptions. Wouldn’t surprise me if libraries eventually get in on the deal somehow, schools, etc. One problem with books is that they require so much room to store.

    • April 6, 2010 at 14:07

      You’ll like this link then; http://ow.ly/1v5c2

      I think what will make or break anything linked to e-books will be e-textbooks. I know Amazon has been working on it for a long time. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Apple come in and bag a deal with the text publishers, which would kill the kindle.

  1. June 26, 2010 at 11:50

Leave a Reply

