Home > Bias > Oppps, I dun goofed

Oppps, I dun goofed


So I feel like a douchebag after jumping the gun on my post from yesterday. All I can say is in my defense, I didn’t have all the evidence. In retrospect, I should have waited. I did exactly what I hate, when other people do it, jumped to conclusions before having all the facts. What’s even worse is that I did exactly what the White House did….feel icky now. Most of what I said still holds true. I’m convinced that real racial tensions won’t go away until the generations that fought for equality and the ones that fought them go away.

I agree with Jonah Goldberg on this 100%.

As I’ve argued countless times before, this sort of politics is almost always counter-productive and quite often grotesque. Embracing the tactics you condemn in others requires, at minimum, that you stop condemning it in others. It also has the potential to sell your soul on layaway.

I don’t want to stop condeming other, I just need to be more vigilant about not using their tactics.

All I can say is, I dun goofed.

Categories: Bias
  1. yttik
    July 21, 2010 at 22:20

    There’s a strange kind of karma in all this. Breitbart may have been cold in what he did, but he was effective. He made his point, false allegations of racism destroys lives. What Breitbart did was give them a dose of their own medicine.

    These are their methods. Just last week I was looking at “evidence” of racism in the tea party, a video of a man who’s words were edited to make him appear racist. Also edited out was his black wife and children in the background. To go farther back, I remember Hillary being labeled a racist, I remember her being falsely accused of threatening the life of her opponent. And of course, the NAACP just passed a resolution declaring an entire group of Americans to be racist, for the sole purpose of discrediting them for political purposes.

    So, to tell you the truth, I’m glad this all happened. I hope it happens a few more times until the word no longer holds power as a political weapon.

    • July 25, 2010 at 08:05

      I hope that this will desensitize people to charges or racism as well.

  2. Seth
    July 22, 2010 at 22:26

    What facts changed your mind?

    • July 25, 2010 at 08:08

      Just watching the whole video. While I still think that using race to decide on what farmers get help is horrible, the point she was trying to make was one of getting over those types of acts. Of course, that doesn’t excuse her from using race in the first place, at least she owned up to it.

      • Seth
        July 25, 2010 at 10:01

        I was confused on that point. At 18:36 in the full video, right as the redemption piece started, she says “it is about white and black” and class. That seems to have been glossed over in both liberal and conservative media. I’d like to know more about what she meant by that.

        Also, how Breitbart’s edit has been inaccurately portrayed in MSM media is typical. From the first cut, he included a part of the “redemption” piece of the video. That fact has been left out of the MSM narrative in order to cover the fact that the NAACP and Obama acted without thinking.

        At the very least, MSM should come down hard against those actions and say this should be a lesson in getting your facts straight before acting rather than lying about what information was available to these organizations. As one talk show host pointed out, wasn’t this an NAACP video? Didn’t they post the full version? Even if Breitbart hadn’t included the redemption piece, which they seemed to have neglected, couldn’t they have reviewed their own full video before acting?

        Also, in the MSM narrative there’s no discussion of the audience reactions while Sherrod described how much help she was going to give a white farmer. None. And, yet that was also a major point of Breitbart’s original post.

        Finally, I know this is only speculation, but I can only imagine how differently the MSM would be treating such a video showing a tea party gathering. I don’t believe there would be any credit given for redemption.

        • July 25, 2010 at 10:26

          I don’t know about the “black and white” comment. Now I don’t think, as I said above, that she gets a get out of jail free card. I think that to demagogue her a racist might have been true in the past (by her own statements), I think her larger point was how to move past that.
          I agree with what you said about Breitbart. I don’t know where or how he got the clip he got, but it wouldn’t surprise me if it was a set up. Maybe they were trying to marginalize him as best they could.

          There is no doubt that both sides played this out in the ways that made a better partisan case for their side. My goof, was to do what exactly what I hate other people doing, going off half cocked. You have to go with the evidence your given, but when you are given more evidence, I think it’s important that you change your evaluations accordingly, and not just shrug it off, like Krugman does to anything that contradicts him.
          Basically, I hate Krugman, and feel slimy for using the same tactics he and Delong use on a regular basis. Which is why I added Goldberg’s comment in as well.

  3. AbigailAdams
    July 26, 2010 at 22:23

    Hey ZH! Hope your summer is, despite all that’s happening, going well!

    I want to comment on the Shirley Sherrod issue. I have to admit first that once cnn, nbc, et al started getting a full head of steam going about attacking Fox and then a headline I saw in which Anderson Cooper (can’t remember which cable station he’s on) said that she was the victim of a smear campaign, that I was quickly bored with the matter. It’s as though the left is trying to squeeze every last bitter drop out of this and not interested at all in the truth. Now who’s exploiting who (whom?)? While Fox, on the other hand, has issued an apology and mea culpa (O’Reilly) and actually took the high road and said more should be known before dropping the gavel (Beck). I don’t know about the rest of it.

    Unfortunately, what is getting lost is what Yttik write about, above. Breitbart was simply using fire on fire — trying to show the American public that the NAACP is as racist as they claim the tea party is; using proof of it rather than making up some sort of “petition” against them. And despite the media’s attempt to turn the tables on him, it’s like asking the jurors to disregard that last question/answer.

    I can’t remember if you said you’d ever attended a tea party rally, but I can tell you that after half a dozen of them, that if there was a racist there, it wasn’t readily apparent in any way that a reasonable person would define racism. I don’t think I’ve even seen any explicit demonstration of sexism or ageism, either. And these were diverse crowds. What the left wants the incurious to think is that the tea party is somehow mostly concerned with race and they aren’t. They are mostly concerned with big government, living with some kind of sane budgets in government, the enforcement and protection of the constitution and personal liberty. Frankly, if anyone brought a frisbee and a basket of chicken, it would kind of look like a church or school picnic (once the business at hand had been finished).

    by the by, what’s your name on NQ? Just curious me.

    • July 30, 2010 at 19:45

      Hey glad to see ya. Wondered what happened to you. Ive been to a few rallies. I haven’t seen any sign of racism. As I said, I think they are using the racism meme, because they have NOTHING else to go on. Remember in the Journolist emails where they were explicitly saying to throw the racist label out there again Limbaugh and Beck, because they had no other argument, all they have is ad hominem.

      • AbigailAdams
        August 3, 2010 at 01:50

        Yes — that’s precisely it. Now that we’re all calling ourselves “crackers” and “racists”, I guess we’ve finally arrived at that desensitization everyone feared would eventually happen. But really, I don’t think so. Everyone knows what real racism looks like — that’s what makes the whole left smear campaign look so ridiculous, isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

